The Jury

The photographs qualified for the Photo competition are judged by a team of a jury comprised of senior photojournalists and photographers of Nepal and an internationally recognized photojournalist. The jury team is composed of six members chaired by the Senior photojournalist Jewel Samad, AFP’s Photo Chief for South Asia. Other jury members are senior photographer Mani Lama, senior photojournalist Bikas Rauniar, senior writer, columnist, documentary and filmmaker Shekhar Kharel, Director of the Kathmandu International Mountain Film Festival (Kimff) Ramyata Limbu and Agency France Presse (AFP) photojournalist and Immediate past president of PJ Club Prakash Mathema. The submitted photos are reviewed by the jury on the screen in the first round after which 100 photos are chosen for the second round. In the third round, the jury shortlists 10-23 photographs for the final round out of which 25 of them are selected as winners in different categories.